Streets Of Rogue First Impressions

I’ve been a fan of tinyBuild’s games. While I haven’t played their known terrible games, I absolutely loved The Last Station and thoroughly enjoyed all their other releases including my honorable mention, Punch Club. Streets Of Rogue & Party Hard 2 are the big tinyBuild Games projects of 2018. How is Streets Of Rogue shaping up?

089DF0BCDF5314E37E5FF9B5D5E687079186B508 (1366×768)

In Streets Of Rogue, you become this rogue organization, willing to take on danger whether or not the law might agree. What I immediately love about this game is the player-driven choices. This is a procedural-generated rogue-lite where taking your objective and exploring becomes your own personal playground. There are rival gangs to side or kill, police officers to barge with, civilians to join in on the cause and houses to invade.

Choice is completely up to you and the game pretty much invites you to experiment your own way. Most of which comes in the form of which character you wish to play as. Each character has their own abilities and pre-set inventory, say for one of the civilian classes, which had me finding my own supplies from scratch.

The possibilities seem to go very far considering the huge roster of character classes to play and customize. Combat has you and your allies beating up drug dealers, thugs, or anyone you decide is hostile. All is in real-time top-down action with a lot of knock back from brawling, shooting or using explosives. You might not even need to get your hands dirty either as you can sneak around, get others to fight for you or again, or set up traps.

I was loving how flexible this game got with its mini-sandbox approach. In my play through of The Slums, I broke into safes, freed prisoners, unleashed a gorilla on foes and had a huge zombie mosh-pit happen. A lot of crazy stuff occurs in this game which is one reason why I’m pumped for Streets of Rogue’s final release. I so need to play this in co-op too next time!

Developer Matt Dabroski plans on getting Streets of Rogue out of Early Access by the end of 2018. Look for a review by then!

Leave a comment